Scheduled Monuments

The Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport has identified 20 archaeological sites within the Borough as sites are of national importance which warrant legal protection as Scheduled Monuments. They are listed here as follows, in order of parish:

  • Archdeacon Newton: medieval site
  • Bishopton: Castle Hill earthworks
  • Brafferton: Ketton Bridge
  • Coatham Mundeville: medieval village
  • Darlington: Skerne Bridge
  • Darlington: Coniscliffe Road waterworks
  • Great Burdon: World War II bombing decoy control shelter
  • Heighington: camp on Shackleton Hill
  • High Coniscliffe: Smotherlaw round barrow
  • High Coniscliffe: Ulnaby deserted medieval village
  • Low Dinsdale: earthworks of manor house
  • Low Dinsdale: Anglo-Saxon cross
  • Middleton St. George: deserted village of West Hartburn
  • Middleton St. George: Tower Hill Motte
  • Piercebridge: Roman station
  • Piercebridge: Piercebridge Bridge
  • Sadberge: shrunken medieval village
  • Sockburn: All Saints Church
  • Summerhouse: Summerhouse earthworks
  • Walworth: deserted village

Darlington Scheduled Monuments Audit 2009 [pdf document]

The Secretary of State must be informed about any work which might affect a monument, above or below ground. Written consent must be obtained before any work can begin. Application forms are available from:

Scheduled Monument Consent Branch, Department of Culture, Media and Sport, 2-4 Cockspur Street, London SW1Y 5DH. Telephone 020 7211 2355