Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent by PrivacyPolicies.com Darlington Borough Council - About Us

About Us

You can also download a copy of the current prospectus [pdf document]

Welcome


Welcome to Learning & Skills. We are an Ofsted rated grade 2 provider offering a wide range of learning opportunities for all ages from children within our Family Learning provision, to young people embarking on Study Programme, Diplomas or Apprenticeships, to adults who want to develop their careers, have a love for learning or are coming back to learning after many years.

We are based at the Coleridge Centre in Skerne Park and we provide some of our courses here. However, you will see from our prospectus that we also offer courses in many other locations around the town. We are quite a small organisation and we pride ourselves in offering you a unique, friendly service, including 1:1 guidance on your next steps in learning or employment once you have completed a course with us.

We are here to help provide the community with the learning you want and we positively welcome any feedback you may have about the type of courses you would like to see in Darlington. We would love to hear from you.

Please call us on 01325 405601, text/WhatsApp 07932 869325 or email l&[email protected] for further information about us and our offer. Alternatively you can message us through Facebook [external link], Twitter [external link] or Instagram [external link].

Find out what our learners think about our courses and the latest news from us by visiting our 'News and Reviews' page.

For further information on our service or if you need any support please visit our 'Support' page.

Learning & Skills Service Aim


We aim to provide a sustainable, high quality learning and skills offer for all residents and employers of Darlington and the wider Tees Valley, particularly for vulnerable members of the community.

We aim to provide high quality learning, teaching and assessment to all our learners, and a service in which learners are motivated to successfully complete their qualifications.

Our ambition is for our learners to progress to successful employment or to further learning.

Term Dates 2021 - 2022


Autumn Term

  • Monday 6th September 2021 to Friday 17th December 2021
  • Half Term - Monday 25th October to Friday 29th October

Christmas Holidays

Monday 20th December 2021 to Monday 3rd January 2022

Spring Term

  • Tuesday 4th January 2022 to Friday 8th April 2022
  • Half Term - Monday 21st February to Friday 25th February

Easter Holidays

Monday 11th April 2022 to Friday 22nd April 2022

Summer Term

  • Monday 25th April 2022 to Thursday 21st July 2022
  • Half Term – Monday 30th May to Friday 3rd June

We are not open on Bank Holidays. Some of our courses may run during school holidays, this is at the tutors discretion.