Cookie Consent by Privacy Policies Generator website

Scheduled monuments

The Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) has identified 20 archaeological sites within the Borough as sites that are of national importance which warrant legal protection as those listed in the Scheduled monuments policy statement [external link]. They are listed here as follows, in alphabetical order of parish:

  • Archdeacon Newtown: mediaeval site
  • Bishopton: Castle Hill earthworks
  • Brafferton: Ketton Bridge
  • Coatham Mundeville: mediaeval village
  • Darlington: Skerne Bridge
  • Darlington: Coniscliffe Road waterworks
  • Great Burdon: World War II bombing decoy control shelter
  • Heighington: camp on Shackleton Hill
  • High Coniscliffe: Smotherlaw round barrow
  • High Coniscliffe: Ulnaby deserted mediaeval village
  • Low Dinsdale: earthworks of manor house
  • Low Dinsdale: Anglo Saxon cross
  • Middleton St. George: deserted village of West Hartburn
  • Middleton St.George: Tower Hill Motte
  • Piercebridge: Roman station
  • Piercebridge: Piercebridge Bridge
  • Sadberge: shrunken mediaeval village
  • Sockburn: All Saints Church
  • Summerhouse: Summerhouse earthworks
  • Walworth: deserted village

Darlington Scheduled Monuments Audit 2009 [pdf document]

The Secretary of State must be informed about any work which might affect a monument, above or below ground. Written consent must be obtained before any work can begin. 


Install our web app.