DARLINGTON SCHOOLS FORUM

10th October 2023

ITEM NO 4

SCHOOLS FORUM MEMBERSHIP 2023

Purpose of Report

This report summarises the changes to the Schools Forum membership since the last meeting and as per terms of reference to appoint Chair and Vice Chair for 2023-2024. A Chair or Vice-Chair may stand for re-election in further successive years.

Forum Decision Required

The Forum is asked to:

- a) Note the report;
- b) Thank members for their contributions to the Schools Forum where appropriate;
- c) Welcome members to the Schools Forum where appropriate;
- d) Appoint Chair and Vice Chair for 2023-2024.

Background

This report provides information on Forum membership issues that have arisen since the last Forum meeting. Details are provided below.

Maintained Primary School Headteacher Representative

 Whinfield primary school moves to Academy status from 1st November hence Shirley Welsh, headteacher at Whinfield primary school will resign from the Forum from this date. The Forum will wish to thank Shirley Welsh for her contribution.

Clerk to the Schools Forum

Jack Aconley has left the post of School Forum Clerk. The Education Partnerships team will fulfil the role of Forum Clerk. The forum wishes to thank Jack for his contribution to Forum.

Terms of Office

The LA emailed all schools governing bodies to inform them as to which Primary Academies, Secondary Academies and 16-19 provider representatives terms of office came to an end in August 2023, as well as requesting new members for relevant vacancies on the Forum.

This process ascertained that the following individuals have been appointed to serve on the Forum from the academic year commencing in September 2023 and subject to an annual review, the term for these Forum members expires in August 2026.

School Type	Member	School	Substitute
School Type	Wiellibei	School	Substitute
Academy - Primary	Vacant		Libby Truby
Academy - Primary	Marco Ramsay	St Johns Academy	Vacant
,	,	Federation of Mowden	
Academy - Primary	Peter King	Schools	John Armitage
Academy - Primary	Jo Blackham	Mount Pleasant	Kath Hull
	Paula Ayto (Vice		
Academy - Primary	Chair)	Reid Street Primary	Sam Hirst
Academy - Primary	Peter Norman	St Bede's RC Primary	Gerry Mackowski
	Dean Judson		
Academy -	(Chair)	Hurworth	Glen Hart
Secondary			
Academy -			
Secondary	Mike Shorten	Carmel College	Melanie Kane
			Jo Keane/Chris
Academy -			Henderson/Nathan
Secondary	Dean Lythgoe	St Aidan's Academy	Smith
Academy -			
Secondary	Kate Reid	Polam Hall School	Julie Mogridge
Academy -			Alan McNab
Secondary	Mike Fryer	Hummersknott Academy	
Academy -			Marie Roe/Lisa Dunn
Secondary	Mike Butler	Beaumont Hill Academy	
16-19 Education	Paul Richardson	Head of 16-19 Education	Vacant
TO-TE EURCATION	raui Nicilai USUII	LIGAU OI TO-TA EUUCALIOII	

Chair and Vice-Chair

According to the Schools Forum terms of reference, the Chair and Vice-Chair shall be elected from within the Schools Forum membership annually at the first meeting of the calendar year. The Schools Forum are asked to note that the current Chair and Vice-Chair are happy to continue in these positions.