Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent by Darlington Borough Council - School Forum

School Forum

The school forum is a formal advisory and decision making body for the allocation of funding for schools in Darlington. The main roles are:

  • To be consulted upon changes to the funding formula proposed by Darlington Borough Council
  • To decide upon the allocation of funding for centrally held budgets
  • To give a view upon a number of areas including: 
    • contracts for the provision of services to schools
    • the minimum funding guarantee
    • financial arrangements for special educational needs
    • financial arrangements for education out of school
    • financial arrangements for early years

Future meetings

  • 11 January 2022
  • 08 March 2022
  • 17 May 2022

All meetings take places at the Town Hall at 2pm.

Next meeting

The Darlington School Forum is currently holding meetings virtually rather than in person. Non School Forum members are still welcome to attend the meeting as non participating observers. Should you wish to attend a meeting, please contact Brett Nielsen on 01325 405403 or email [email protected] for joining instructions.

12 October 2021

Most recent meeting

18 March 2021

Previous meetings


Terms of reference [pdf document]

Maintained Schools

Nursery schools:

Helen Dummond – Darlington Nursery Schools

Primary schools:

Shirley Welsh - Whinfield Primary School, (Substitute - Michelle Charlton - Whinfield Primary School)

Pupil referral unit:

Sally Hudson - Rise Carr College (Substitute – Kerry Loftus - Rise Carr College)

Academy Schools

Academy primary schools:

Peter King (Vice Chair) – Federation of Mowden Schools, Paula Ayto - Reid Street Primary School, Kelly-Ann Lyle – The Rydal Academy, Dominic Vizzard (St George’s Academy) Stuart Crowther (Mt Pleasant Primary), Marianne Taylor (St Bede’s RC Primary), (Substitutes – Libby Truby – The Rydal Academy, Ann Williams St George’s Academy, - John Armitage - The Rydal Academy, Kate Chisholm - Skerne Park Academy, Valarie Johnson – Corporation Road Primary, Gerry Mackowski – St Bede’s RC Primary).

Academy secondary schools:

Dean Judson (Chair) - Hurworth School, Mike Shorten - Carmel College, Nicole Gibbon – St Aidan’s Academy, Kate Reid – Polam Hall School, Mike Fryer - Hummersknott Academy, (Substitutes – Glen Hart - Hurworth School, Maura Regan - Carmel College, Stephanie Garthwaite – St Aidan’s Academy, Cllr Alan McNab - Hummersknott Academy)

Academy special schools:

Mike Butler - The Education Village (Substitute – Katheryn Stephenson - The Education Village)

Non School Members

Diocesan representatives:

Christine Large – St John’s C of E Primary School, Jennifer Moorhouse – Roman Catholic Diocese of Hexham & Newcastle (Substitute - Deborah Fox – Carmel College, Wendy Aitken - High Coniscliffe CE Primary School)

16-19 education:

Paul Richardson - Head of 16-19

PVI early years providers:

Emma Calvert – William House Nursery (Substitute - Ian Maile - Flora House)

LEA observers:

Tony Murphy (Head of Education & Inclusion), Brett Nielsen (Finance Manager), Elaine Sayers (Finance Officer)