European Parliamentary Election 2019

European Parliamentary Elections took place on Thursday, 23rd May 2019, when residents were asked to elect new Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) for the North East Region, to represent them in the European Parliament. The election in the North East Region was overseen by the Regional Returning Officer, based in Sunderland.

Three Members of the European Parliament for the North East Region were elected.

European Parliamentary Election - Timetable of Proceedings

Action Date
Publication of the Notice of Election Monday, 15th April 2019
Receipt of Nominations 4:00 p.m., Thursday, 25th April 2019
Withdrawal of Candidate 4:00 p.m., Thursday, 25th April 2019
Appointment of Election Agents 4:00 p.m., Thursday, 25th April 2019
Publication of Statements of Parties and Individual Candidates Nominated and Notice of Poll and Situation of Polling Stations Thursday, 25th April 2019
Publication of Notice of Election Agents and Sub Agents 4:00 p.m., Thursday, 25th April 2019
Last Date for Registration (and completion of European Parliamentary Voter Registration Forms)) Tuesday, 7th May 2019
Mailing of Postal Votes (for those applications received before 15 April 2019) Tuesday, 7th May 2019
Receipt of Postal Vote Applications 5:00 p.m., Wednesday, 8th May 2019
Receipt of Proxy Vote Applications 5:00 p.m., Wednesday, 15th May 2019
Appointment of Poll and Count Agents Thursday, 16th May 2019
First Day to Issue Replacement Lost Postal Ballot Papers Friday, 17th May 2019
Verification of Ballot Papers Thursday, 23rd May 2019
Last Day to Issue Replacement Spoilt or Lost Postal Ballot Papers 5:00 p.m., Thursday, 23rd May 2019
Receipt of Emergency Proxy Vote Applications  5:00 p.m., Thursday, 23rd May 2019
Day of Poll  7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m., Thursday, 23rd May 2019
Verification of Votes - Dolphin Centre, Darlington 10.00 a.m., Friday 24 May 2019
Counting of Votes - Dolphin Centre, Darlington
7.00 p.m., Sunday, 26th May 2019
Return of Candidate Expenses Monday, 15th July 2019