Interim Review of Polling Districts, Polling Places and Polling Stations 2022

To ensure they are:

  • available
  • fit for purpose
  • suitable for any of the provisions contained within the Elections Act 2022

Before local government (borough council) elections in May 2023.

What are polling districts, polling places and polling stations?

Polling districts

Polling districts are the geographical areas into which council wards are divided.

Polling places

Polling places are the locations or buildings that contain polling stations

When the council decides which buildings to use as polling places we strive to ensure that they are:

  • located as conveniently as possible within the polling district
  • accessible to everyone, particularly for disabled people

Polling station

This is the room or area within the polling place where voting takes place.

How long will the review take?

The review began on Monday, 18 July 2022.

We published a notice of interim review of:

  • polling districts
  • polling places
  • polling stations

From Monday 18 July 2022 until Friday 2 September 2022, we will be seeking views on our existing:

  • polling districts
  • polling places
  • polling stations

We encourage views and representations from:

  • community groups
  • organisations
  • head teachers
  • elected representatives
  • any person or body with expertise in access for people with any type of disability

We also encourage anyone entitled to vote in Darlington to:

  • make representations.
  • tell us of any issues with current polling stations
  • make suggestions for alternative venues

We will then draft our final proposals based on the representations received.

The proposals are balanced against the criteria and guidance provided by the Electoral Commission.

We will also take into consideration the comments and views of the Returning Officer. The Returning Officer's comments on our existing Polling Places as at the 2018 Polling Districts, Polling Places and Polling Station Review. 

Results of our initial consultation: During our initial consultation exercise, we received two representations regarding our Polling Districts, Polling Places and Polling Stations:

Polling Station No. 7 - St John’s Church of England Academy – The Presiding Officer at St John’s Church of England Academy submitted the following comments: 

‘My only comment on polling station number 7, at St John’s Church of England Academy, concerns the room size. It isn’t really big enough, there’s not much space left once tables, chairs and the voting booth are in. There’s some school items and furniture that are left in the room too. It’s not great for wheelchair users, I seem to recall there’s a slight step/rise to the floor level of the room and the door is barely wide enough.’ 

An inspection of the premises was conducted on 28th July 2022, and Officers concluded that the room was big enough, should the school items and furniture be removed. Should disabled elector struggle to enter through the door, an alternative access through the Main Reception Area should be used. As the school remains central to the main residential area with the Polling District, and as no further suitable venues within the Polling District have been identified, we are continuing to propose that St John’s Church of England Academy serve as the Polling Place in Polling District BLD. 

Polling Station No. 57 and 58 – Middleton St. George Women’s Institute Hall – One of the Ward Councillors for the Sadberge and Middleton St George Ward submitted the following representation: 

‘We would like to request that the Polling Station for Middleton St George reverts back to using the Community Centre and not the W.I. Hall. At the last election there was several complaints that residents had to queue and many unable to get in to vote, consequently we lost a lot of votes. If you need further help or support with this please let us know and we can help. The Management Committee of the Community Centre are more than willing to accommodate.’ 

An inspection of Middleton St George Community Centre was conducted on 26th July 2022, and Officers concluded that the premises would be acceptable as a Polling Place. Whilst the Middleton St. George Women’s Institute Hall is certainly a suitable venue, it lacks car parking, whereas the Middleton St. George Community Centre can offer parking for approximately 20 cars. We are therefore minded to recommend a change to the Polling Place in Middleton St George, and use the Middleton St George Community Centre.

In addition to the two representations above, we also remained mindful of recent Government requests around the use of schools, and previously expressed views by some Headteachers. With these thoughts in mind, are minded to recommend a change from John Caden Hall at Carmel College (Polling Stations No. 26 and 27) to Salutation Hall on Salutation Road, which worked well during the Coronavirus pandemic, and recommend a change from Holy Family R. C. Primary School (Polling Station No. 8) to Cockerton Library, which again was used as an alternative Polling Place during the Coronavirus pandemic.

Another change which worked well during the Coronavirus pandemic was the change from using two classrooms in the Queen Elizabeth Sixth Form College (Polling Stations No. 11 and 12) to the Sports Pavilion on Abbey Road Sports Field. Having discussed these arrangements with the Principal at the Queen Elizabeth Sixth Form College, we are minded to make the change permanent. 

We also discovered that Great Stainton Church Hall, Glebe Road, Great Stainton (Polling Station No. 53) no longer existed, necessitating a change to the Polling Place.

Taking these representations and views into consideration, and giving consideration to the recommendations contained within the Parliamentary Boundary Review 2023, we reviewed our findings between Monday, 5th September 2022 and Friday, 16th September 2022, and have revised our draft proposals, which are now set out below. 

Proposed Polling Places and Polling Stations 2022/2023

 

Polling Station Number

Polling District

Polling Place Address

Post Code

1

BFA (D) and BFA (S)

West Park Academy, Alderman Leach Drive, Darlington

DL2 2GF

2

BFB

West Park Academy, Alderman Leach Drive, Darlington

DL2 2GF

3

BFC

Darlington Railway Athletic Club (Snooker Room), Brinkburn Road, Darlington

DL3 9LF

4

BLA

King William Street Community Centre, King William Street, Darlington

DL1 4YS

5

BLB

Rydal Academy, Rydal Road, Darlington

DL1 4BH

6

BLC

Rydal Academy, Rydal Road, Darlington

DL1 4BH

7

BLD

St. John’s Church of England Academy, Fenby Avenue, Darlington

DL1 4UB

8

CKA

Cockerton Library, Woodland Road, Darlington

DL3 9AA

9

CKB

‘Little Learners’, Mount Pleasant Primary School, Newton Lane, Darlington

DL3 9HE

10

CKC

The Redeemed Christian Church of God, Eggleston View, Darlington

DL3 9SH

11

COA

Sports Pavilion, Abbey Road Sports Field, Abbey Road, Darlington

DL3 7RD 

12

COB, COC

Sports Pavilion, Abbey Road Sports Field, Abbey Road, Darlington

DL3 7RD

13

EAA

Geneva Road Evangelical Baptist Church Hall, Geneva Road, Darlington

DL1 4HS

14

EAB

Firthmoor Community Centre, Burnside Road, Darlington

DL1 4SU

15

EAC

Pilmoor Green Community Centre, West Moor Road, Darlington

DL1 4LN

16

HCA

Heighington Village Hall, Heighington

DL5 6QX

17

HCB, HCE, HCF

Walworth Castle Hotel, Walworth

DL2 2LY

18

HCC, HCD

Summerhouse Village Hall, Summerhouse

DL2 3UD

19

HCG

St. Mary’s Church, The Green, Piercebridge

DL2 3SH

20

HCH, HCI

High Coniscliffe Church Hall, The Green, High Coniscliffe

DL2 2LR

21

HCJ, HCK

Whessoe Village Hall, Harrowgate Village, Darlington

DL1 3AA

22

HCL

Brafferton Village Hall, Brafferton

DL1 3LB

23

HHA

Whessoe Village Hall, Harrowgate Village, Darlington

DL1 3AA

24

HHB

Harrowgate Hill Working Men’s Club, Salters Lane North, Darlington

DL1 3DT

25

HHC

D.S.R.M. Social Club, Longfield Road, Darlington

DL3 0HX

26

HKA

Salutation Hall, Salutation Road, Darlington

DL3 8JP

27

HKB

Salutation Hall, Salutation Road, Darlington

DL3 8JP

28

HSA

Haughton Children’s Centre, Salters Lane South, Darlington

DL1 2AN

29

HSB

Haughton Children’s Centre, Salters Lane South, Darlington

DL1 2AN

30

HSC

St. Anne’s Church Hall, Welbeck Avenue, Darlington

DL1 2DR

31

HUA

Linden Court, Linden Drive, Hurworth Place

DL2 2DL

32

HUB

Hurworth Primary School, Westfield Drive, Hurworth

DL2 2ET

33

HUC, HUD, HUE

The Reading Room, Neasham, Darlington

DL2 1PH

34

MOA

Mowden Junior School (Staff Room), Federation of Mowden Schools, Conyers Avenue, Darlington

DL3 9DE

35

MOB

Mowden Junior School (Staff Room), Federation of Mowden Schools, Conyers Avenue, Darlington

DL3 9DE

36

NGA, NGB

Corporation Road Community Primary School, Corporation Road, Darlington

DL3 6AR

37

NGC

Borough Road Nursery School, Borough Road, Darlington

DL1 1SG

38

NRA

St. Thomas Aquinas Church Hall, North Road, Darlington

DL1 2PU

39

NRB

Rise Carr College, Eldon Street, Darlington

DL3 0NS

40

NRC, NRD

Northwood Primary School, Pendleton Road South, Darlington

DL1 2HF

41

PEA

St. Augustine’s Parish Centre, Larchfield Street, Darlington

DL3 7TF

42

PEB

Borough Road Nursery School, Borough Road, Darlington

DL1 1SG

43

PEC

St. Columba’s Church and the Clifton Centre, Clifton Avenue, Darlington

DL1 5EE

44

PED

Skerne Park Children’s Centre, The Coleridge Centre, Coleridge Gardens, Darlington

DL1 5AJ

45

PEE

Skerne Park Youth and Community Centre, Coleridge Gardens, Darlington

DL1 5AP

46

PIA

Willow Road Community Centre, Willow Road, Darlington

DL3 6PZ

47

PIB

Willow Road Community Centre, Willow Road, Darlington

DL3 6PZ

48

PIC, PID

Reid Street Primary School, Reid Street, Darlington

DL3 6EX

49

PWA, PWB

All Saint’s Millennium Centre, Ravensdale Road, Darlington

DL3 8DT

50

PWC

St. Augustine’s Parish Centre, Larchfield Street, Darlington

DL3 7TF

51

RLA

Red Hall Community Centre, Headingley Crescent, Darlington

DL1 2ST

52

RLB

St. Herbert’s Church Hall, Yarm Road, Darlington

DL1 1BD

53 SMA, SMB, SMC Bishopton Village Hall, Church View, Bishopton TS21 1HB

54

SMD, SMF

Sadberge Village Hall, Sadberge DL2 1SB
55 SME, SMG, SMH

St. Anne’s Church Hall, Welbeck Avenue, Darlington

DL1 2DR

56

SMI

Middleton St. George Community Centre, Station Road, Middleton St. George, Darlington

DL2 1JG

57

SMJ

Middleton St. George Community Centre, Station Road, Middleton St. George, Darlington

DL2 1JG

58

STA

St. James the Great Church Hall, Barton Street, Darlington, (Entrance on Grey Street)

DL1 2LD

59

STB

Eastbourne Sports Complex, Bourne Avenue (off Hundens Lane), Darlington

DL1 1LJ

60

WHA

Whinfield Primary School, Augusta Close, Darlington

DL1 3HT

61

WHB

Whinfield Primary School, Augusta Close, Darlington

DL1 3HT

We will submit our final recommendations to an Ordinary Meeting of the Council on Thursday, 24 November 2022.

 

Install our web app.