Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent by PrivacyPolicies.com Darlington Borough Council - Register Office Christmas opening hours

Register Office Christmas opening hours

Tuesday 22 December

  • Normal service (births, deaths, notice appointments, weddings)
  • Telephones 8:30am-4:45pm

Wednesday 23 December

  • Deaths only (appointment held via telephone)
  • Telephones open 8:30am-4:45pm

Thursday 24 December

  • Deaths only (appointment held via telephone)
  • Telephones open 8:30am-4:45pm

Friday 25 December

  • Christmas Day
  • Office closed. No weddings.

Saturday 26 December

  • Boxing Day
  • Office closed. No weddings.

Sunday 27 December 

Office closed. No weddings. 

Monday 28 December

  • Bank Holiday
  • Office closed, No weddings. 

Tuesday 29 December

  • Deaths only (appointment held via telephone)
  • Telephones open 8:30am-3:30pm

Wednesday 30 December

  • Deaths only (appointment held via telephone)
  • Telephones open 8:30am-3:30pm

Thursday 31 December

  • Deaths only (appointment held via telephone)
  • Telephones open 8:30am-3:30pm

Friday 1 January

  • Office closed. No weddings.
  • Saturday 2 January
  • Office closed. No weddings.

Sunday 3 January

  • Office closed. No weddings.

Monday 4 January

  • Normal service (births, deaths, notice appointments, weddings)
  • Telephones 8:30am-4:45pm

As usual please email any correspondence for us to [email protected]

Death certificates purchased at the time of registering a death can be collected from the register office 10.00 am to 3.00 pm or posted 1st class, but note there may be a delay in receiving post dependent upon Royal Mail delivery schedules.

It is still not possible to visit the register office to book and pay for a wedding or to apply for a birth, death or marriage certificate. These services can only be accessed online

Emergency Telephone number: 07932 538 910

Please only ring this number when the office is closed and only in one of the following two circumstances:

  1. An end of life wedding needs to take place.
  2. A green form 9 is required to organise an urgent burial.

The register office staff would like to thank you for your support and patience, and more importantly our thoughts are with those who have been bereaved, during this very challenging year.

We continue to do our best for Darlington, its residents and the people who use Darlington’s public services.

We all hope that you are able to have some time to relax and recharge over the Christmas and New Year period.