What we use your data for
In order for us to be able to create your My Darlington+ account we need some of your personal information, The section below explains what we use it for.
We use your name so that we can identify who you are if you contact us regarding your account. Your name is also used to personalise emails that the system sends you.
Your email address
Your email address acts as your username and is unique to your account. As such we only support one account per email address. We will use your email address to identify your account if you contact us with any queries about your account. Any alerts that you register for will also be sent to this email address.
Your postal address
We use your postal address so that we can give you accurate property level information. This includes your bin collection day, ward and Councillor if you live within the borough.
Your Mobile Number
We use your mobile to help link your account to our forms and bowling systems. This means you can use your My Darlington account to access multiple services with the same username and password. Future services will also allow you to sign up for SMS notifications.
Your password is encrypted and cannot be seen by any anyone, including Darlington Borough Council staff. We will never ask for your password over the phone or by email if you contact us about your account. If you need to change your password you can do this either from the My Profile tab when logged in or by clicking on the 'forgot your login details' link on the login page.
Sharing your data
Your data will not be sold onto any external 3rd parties.
We will where necessary use your data to match you to other Council systems so that you can access this information through your My Darlington+ account. For instance if you report a problem such as dog fouling we link your My Darlington account to our forms software so that you can retrieve a list of all the issues you have reported to us. If you choose to create a bowling account we will share your contact details with our lane booking software supplier so that you can make lane bookings online.
As long as you log regularly into your My Darlington+ account we will continue to keep your account open and the data within it. Once an account has not been logged into for 2 years we will delete this account and the data held within My Darlington+. New accounts that do not log in within 1 year of being created will also be deleted.
For more information on how we will use your personal data visit: www.darlington.gov.uk/privacy